2008–Inducted into the Missouri Photojournalism Hall of Fame
    Missouri Press Association Better Newspaper Competition:
    35 awards for writing, photography, and design
    16-1st place awards
    2005–University of Missouri College of Arts and Science Excellence in Education Award
    (nominated by former student Becky McGill)
    2002–Journalism Education Association Lifetime Achievement Award
    1998–The Taft Award, Missouri Interscholastic Press Association
    1997–National Scholastic Press Association Pioneer Award
    1996–Dow Jones Newspaper Fund Certificate of Merit
    1996–Missouri Journalism Teacher of the Year, Missouri Interscholastic Press Association
    1994–Robert Knight Award for support of scholastic freedom of expression